Home - AZ Fandom - Arizona Convention History Mail Admin Gremlin



AniZona was an annual anime con held over the Easter Weekend. It was founded by Anthony Grutta, David Hungerford and Jason Bustard.

From 2005 to 2007 it was run by AniZona Anime Conventions Inc. but that organisation was dissolved in 2007. WesternSFA (westernsfa.org) hosted the last AniZona in 2009.

As other anime cons started to join the scene, it advertised itself as 'Arizona's FIRST Anime Convention'.


Chronology of Arizona Conventions

# Date Location Chair Guests Book Web
1 2005
25 Mar
27 Mar
Embassy Suites Phoenix North
Anthony Grutta see below
43 MB
2 2006
14 Apr
16 Apr
Embassy Suites Phoenix North
David M. Hungerford III see below 2
3 2007
5 Apr
8 Apr
Mesa Convention Center
Shane Bryner see below
39 MB
4 2008
21 Mar
23 Mar
Wigwam Resort
Litchfield Park
see below 4
5 2009
9 Apr
12 Apr
Embassy Suites Phoenix North
Bob LaPierre Toybox
19 MB


  1. Attendance for AniZona 1 was capped at 850 with ~950 warm bodies.
  2. Attendance for AniZona 2 was capped at 1,000 with ~1,200 warm bodies.
  3. Attendance for AniZona 3 was capped at 1,600 with ~1,900 warm bodies.
  4. AniZona 4 was cancelled. The board dissolved AniZona Anime Convention Inc. in 2007 and donated all funds and assets to the WesternSFA with the wish that AniZona continue.
  5. Attendance for AniZona 5 was capped at 1,000 with ~1,200 warm bodies.


Anizona has too many guests to list in the table above. Here are the guests announced for each event:

2005: Yoshitaka Amano, Colleen Clinkenbeard, Travis Willingham, Aaron Dismuke, Yaya Han, Katie Bair, Hide-san, Nicole Gibson and Charles Dee Rice.

2006: Colleen Clinkenbeard, Sonny Strait, Michael McConnohie, Melodee M. Spevack, Katie Bair, David Beaty and Jodon Bellofatto.

2007: Wendee Lee, Haruka Miyabi, Kenyth Mogan, Yoko Molotov, Amanda T, Michael McConnohie, Melodee M. Spevack, Greg Ayres, Geoff Pinckney, Kevin Tye, David Beaty, Jodon Bellofatto and Katie Bair.

2009: Richard Epcar, Chris Hazelton, Trish Ledoux, Natz, Ellyn Stern, Amanda Tomasch, Toybox, David Vincent and Toshifumi Yoshida.

Older Program Book Covers

Creative Commons License
Last update: 4th February, 2019