Home - Arizona Convention History Mail Admin Gremlin

Atomic Monster Weekend


Atomic Monster Weekend (atomicmonsterweekend.com) was a new media convention scheduled for 2023. It was initially focused on "Halloween and horror pop culture" and looked older school than other similar events in the valley. However, it grew into a more general event before it its entire web presence was deleted just over a week out. No official cancellation was announced.

Event organiser O'Neal Pignani had already built a name for this sort of behaviour with earlier events outside of Arizona and with the It Came from the '80s magazine, for which at least one issue was created as a PDF but allegedly never printed. Some of that background is detailed at Nerd and Tie (nerdandtie.com), in the wake of deleting the entire web presence of his It Came from the '80s Weekend four months before it was due to happen in March 2020.


Chronology of Arizona Conventions

# Date Location Chair Guests Book Web Notes
1 2023
21 Sep
23 Sep
Sheraton Mesa Hotel at Wrigleyville West
O'Neal Pignani see below 1


  1. Atomic Monster Weekend was initially advertised as being at the Nile Theatre in Mesa, but was later moved to the Sheraton Mesa Hotel at Wrigleyville West. It was cancelled (officially postponed, probably for legal reasons) just over a week out.


As a guest-centric event, Atomic Monter Weekend would have had too many guests to comfortably list in the table above. Here they are in more readable form:

2023: Melody Anderson, Belinda Balaski, Richard Band, Michael Berryman, Lyle Blackburn, Brian Bremer, Kimberly J. Brown, Matty Cardarople, Kathy Coleman, Keith Coogan, Joe Dante, Fred Dekker, Michael Des Barres, Frank Dietz, Wesley Eure, Jeff Farley, Phil Fondacaro, Jay Fotos, Ghoultown, Andre Gower, Bradley Gregg, Alec Gillis, Noah Hathaway, Clint Howard, Steve Johnson, Sam Jones, Omri Katz, Daniel Kountz, Sid Krofft, Ryan Lambert, Jason Lively, Thom Matthews, Tony Moran, Bill Perry, Walter Phelan, Marc Price, Ivan E. Roth, Vinessa Shaw, Dee Wallace.

Creative Commons License
Last update: 20th October, 2023