Home - AZ Fandom - Arizona Convention History Mail Admin Gremlin

Bids We Won and Lost

Local conventions tend to be held because someone decides to hold them. That's it, at the simplest level, ignoring how much work goes into doing that. Often, they'll set up an organisation, whether non-profit or for profit, to run them under, but it's still up to them.

Regional conventions, such as Westercon, Worldcon or NASFiC, don't work that way. They tend to be owned by out of state groups who run an annual (usually) bidding process for anyone who wishes to run them. If you have a group that wants to do so, you have to work through that process.

Usually, that process means putting a team together to run the proposed event; obtaining a contract from a hotel to host it; attending previous instances of the convention in play to understand how it works; officially placing a bid; trying to persuade people to support your bid (which means persuading them to give you money); hosting room parties at conventions at which to campaign; and, by the end of it, putting in a whole bunch of work even before you know if you've won the vote or not. Because, if there's more than one bid, someone's going to lose.

Arizona has bid to host many regional conventions over the decades. It's won some and it's lost some.

Winning Bids

The 18 instances when Arizona has won a bid are already covered in my Arizona Convention History.

Check out the pages for:

Year Convention # Location Chair(s)
1978 Worldcon 36 Phoenix Tim Kyger
1982 Westercon 35 Phoenix Randy Rau
1985 World Fantasy Convention 11 Tucson Randy Rau
1987 North American Science Fiction Convention 3 Phoenix Bruce Farr
1988 SMOFcon 5 Phoenix Bruce Farr
1988 Westercon 41 Phoenix Terry Gish
1991 World Fantasy Convention 17 Tucson Randy Rau & Bruce Farr
1992 Westercon 45 Phoenix Randy Rau
1994 World Horror Convention 4 Phoenix Doreen Webbert & Jean Goddin
1998 SFRA Conference 29 Scottsdale B. Diane Miller
1998 World Horror Convention 8 Phoenix Doreen Webbert & Jean Goddin
2004 Westercon 57 Litchfield Park Craig Dyer
2004 World Fantasy Convention 30 Tempe Mike Willmoth
2004 World Horror Convention 14 Phoenix Mike Willmoth
2009 North American Discworld Convention 1 Tempe Lee Whiteside
2009 Westercon 62 Tempe Mike Willmoth
2012 Costume-Con 30 Tempe Elaine Mami
2013 Browncoat Ball 9 Phoenix Cindy Pickard
2017 Westercon 70 Tempe Dee Astell

Losing Bids

The instances when Arizona has lost a bid aren't covered elsewhere, so I'm highlighting them here.

Please let us know if we're missing any and support the next bid that arises!

Year Convention # Location Bid Chair Lost To
1978 Westercon 31 Phoenix Greg Brown Los Angeles, CA
1980 Westercon 33 Phoenix Los Angeles, CA
1984 Westercon 37 Phoenix Portland, OR
1985 Westercon 38 Phoenix Sacramento, CA
1987 Worldcon 45 Phoenix Bruce Farr Brighton, UK
1993 CostumeCon 11 Phoenix Pittsburgh, PA
1993 Worldcon 51 Phoenix Terry Gish San Francisco, CA
1999 North American Science Fiction Convention 7 Phoenix Anaheim, CA
2000 Westercon 53 Phoenix Honolulu, HI
2002 Westercon 55 Phoenix Patrick Connors Los Angeles, CA
2014 North American Science Fiction Convention 11 Phoenix Mike Willmoth Detroit, MI


Creative Commons License
Last update: 4th December, 2017